Let’s Play With Numbers

I hate math.  But life is all about numbers; especially a diabetic life. I guess my hatred for math could be one reason why I have such a difficult time getting through life and controlling my diabetes.  I’m not bad at math, it actually isn’t all that difficult in a day-to-day perspective.  I just hate doing it, especially all day, everyday, over and over again.  Ugh!

diabetes

For a diabetic, math comes up a million times a day.  Counting carbs, protein, fat, and calories with every meal.  Checking blood sugar at least four times a day. Determining insulin dosage based on those food counts and blood sugar readings at least four times per day.

Yeah, it’s a number game.

diabetes2I was in bed trying to fall asleep the other night and I got to wondering just how many times I’ve pricked my finger and injected myself in my lifetime.  Then the question evolved to how many doctors visits, tests, procedures, hospitalizations, surgeries, etc., I’ve had because of my diabetes.

I’ve been diabetic for 27 years.  Let’s add up the numbers.

These are mostly estimates due to the fact that schedules and routines have changed year to year…and other factors.

Finger pricks: >40,000

Injections (not just insulin): >50,000

Pills: >150,000

Doctor visits: >300

Lab Draws: >120

Hospitalizations: 8

Tests (other than lab draws): >100

Procedures (not surgery): >30

Surgeries: 6

And many, many more numbers to come!

diabetes3

Author: Tamra K. Garcia

Stephen King says to "Write what you know." I know diabetes, I know me; so this is what I write about.

Leave a Reply

