The High Life

Great friends and a teppanyaki dinner

Last night we went out to dinner for teppanyaki with a group of friends to celebrate one of their birthdays. It was a very wonderful evening for many reasons; we got to visit with friends we don’t see as often as we’d like, and we had an awesome cook who was talented as well as hilarious. And I got to get out of the house…I don’t get out much these days.

If you don’t know what teppanyaki is, it is a style of Japanese cuisine. The cook uses a huge iron griddle (of which all the guests are seated around) and gives a wonderful show of cooking your food.  Our cook was wonderful and helped to make the evening a total blast! We were greatly entertained by his cooking and jokes.  I haven’t laughed that much in awhile.

Since this is a diabetes blog, I’ll get to the point of why I’m mentioning last nights great fun. I consciously decided not to worry about my blood sugar for the evening, knowing we were going to eat much more than I’m used to in an entire day let alone one meal. Even though I bolused as best I could guess for what I was going to eat, and then again after I ate, to correct for what I figured I’d underestimated on, I still ended up massively high about two hours after eating.

Oh, the joys of diabetes.

At it’s highest my blood sugar reached 400. I haven’t had a blood sugar above 300 in months, and my blood sugar rarely reaches over 170 these days, and that’s a bad day.

The teppanyaki was delicious.  There was a ton of food and each and every item was cooked with a sauce that obviously had sugar in the ingredients. I had soup, salad, veggies, chicken, shrimp, and rice.  I also had vanilla ice cream which I really should have skipped, but I was not worrying about my blood sugar, remember.

It was all so worth it, though.  It’s OK to do things like this once in a great while. If we do not let loose once in awhile, we’ll burn out and loose all control.

One thing this brought to mind is the realization of a difference in how high blood sugar feels when you only experience it on occasion, versus when you live with chronically high blood sugar.

Now days, with my blood sugar staying in the low 100’s and below most of the time, when I do experience a BG above 150, and especially when it goes anywhere above 200, I can really feel the symptoms of the high. Dehydration, dry mouth, tight crampy muscles, irritability, insomnia, laziness, munchies, nausea, frequent urination, blurry vision…

When I spent 25 years solid with blood sugars rarely below 180 and often north of 250, I rarely noticed any symptoms at all. It wasn’t that they weren’t there, it was just that my body was accustomed to them. I felt normal because this was my norm.

This brings me to a startling and frightening revelation.  OK, maybe those words are a bit too much, I did realize this a long time ago, but last night as I dealt with my high (which means I wasn’t sleeping), I spent some time thinking about it.  I spent so many years never checking my blood sugar, never thinking about what I was eating, and just taking my standard dose of insulin without knowing what my blood sugar was first or thinking about how active I was going to be or what I was going to eat. There was no planning, no balancing, no caution.

My god!  How did I not kill myself?! Really, how did I survive all those years without overdosing on insulin? All it would have taken was one day of too much activity, not enough food, and too much insulin, and I would have gone to sleep and never woken up.

Of course, I was killing my self in another, much slower way by running massively high all the time. But you get my point, I never knew where my blood sugar was so I could have easily caused an immediate emergency at any moment.

Scary stuff there, yall.

Author: Tamra K. Garcia

Stephen King says to "Write what you know." I know diabetes, I know me; so this is what I write about.

3 thoughts on “The High Life”

  1. I just had that thought this week. My blood sugars have been high for no reasons, but this time I have been taking care, trying to fixs whatever is wrong. The feeling of high is so different, horrible, sicking, not the normal anymore.
    But its not just the Highs that feel different its the lows too. I got my first low under 100, when I started working on my blood sugar and that was the worse low ever, but I was only 80. 80 was not my normal.

    Like

  2. I was just diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. I’m on the pill and my doctor said I don’t have to check my blood sugar just yet. But, I do feel a difference when I eat too much of something that is salty or sweet. I get jittery, nausea, and I feel very sluggish and fatigue. I love your blog and how you talk about your diabetes.

    Like

  3. Your right, we need to take that bteak every now again, i had D burnout yesterday and a friend said the same thing, take a break and eat something you like and enjoy it. Glad you had a great outting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

