I’m a Pumper!

I’ve been aware of insulin pumps for many years. Way back in the late ’90’s/ early 2000’s I actually wanted a pump but I wasn’t allowed one because I was considered (appropriately) an uncontrolled diabetic and my doctor required an A1c of 8 or lower before she would let me get a pump.

As the years went by I slowly became less and less interested in pumps and eventually decided I didn’t want one at all. My reasoning was purely personal. I was poor and the thought of steady insurance coverage was fleeting. I didn’t think a pump was reasonable to my lifestyle.

Once I did get insurance and got my blood sugar under control, my thoughts of a pump quickly shifted back to favorable. My endo asked me if I was interested and at first I said no. Then, a month ago, I asked her for one and she immediately got the ball rolling.  So here I am a month later, and today is my first day pumping.

2015-07-20 15.06.04
My first delivery.

And I’m already in love.

I got the Animas Vibe. It is easy to use, and just like my Dexcom CGM, it is hardly noticeable to wear. I don’t feel a thing.

I have my basal rate programmed, I bolus as needed. I only use fast acting insulin so no more Lantus, just Humalog. The pump calculates everything and recommends what it thinks I should do, but I make the decisions and am in control of everything.  The Animas connects to my Dexcom so everything is controlled from my pump so I don’t have to wear or use the Dexcom receiver at all.

LOVE IT!

For the next 4 to six weeks I have to check my blood sugar 6 to eight times a day and log them, my carbs, my activities, and my insulin. I have to do this in order to make sure my new dosing is adequate. Pumping uses different math than shots. It’s actually just as easy but makes life so much less stressful.

I plan to keep you all updated on my pumping progress. I still have stuff to get used to and straighten out, obviously. But I have to say the future looks bright!

ani

Author: Tamra K. Garcia

Stephen King says to "Write what you know." I know diabetes, I know me; so this is what I write about.

5 thoughts on “I’m a Pumper!”

  1. Hi Tamra! Thanks for following my blog – I just posted the very first one yesterday. I have now read several of your blogs and they are very interesting. I do not have a pump yet, and am hoping I won’t need one, if I can get my blood sugar under control. But your post does make it sound better than I thought. I will continue to follow your blog posts and invite you to continue to follow mine also. Thanks
    Mary Gibbins, Diabetesunderstanding.

    Like

  2. Hey and thanks for the follow. But why is the pump better then just taking insulin for you? I do not know much about the pump so…. what’s so special about it? What causes you to get the pump.? I hope you can answer my questions please. You are a very interesting person. I read a lot of your blogs.

    Like

    1. First let me say that there is absolutely nothing wrong with taking shots over being on a pump. All-in-all it is totally a personal decision. But most people who use a pump will tell you there are a few benefits:

      1. A pump is worn on you at all times and therefore provides a lot more freedom than having to pack up syringes, insulin, and ice packs, etc. whenever you want to go out somewhere; or having to take the time to go to wherever you keep your supplies to take your shot.

      2. The pump gives you a continuous flow of fast acting insulin that for most people works much better than one shot a day of long acting insulin. Then you give yourself bolus’ as needed for food or correcting the occasional high. All at the push of a button.

      3. Most people on pumps experience much tighter blood sugar control and therefore experience fewer highs and very few lows.

      4. Being on a pump means not having to take shots several times a day. Instead you have a very thin, flexible plastic cannula inserted into you (you can not feel it at all) that your insulin is administered through. You have to change it about every three days. That means one injection every three days versus multiple injections everyday.

      It’s a little different for everyone, but most people who try the pump stick with it because they love it so much. I do know a handful of people, though, who have tried the pump and went back to shots because they preferred them more. Again, it’s a personal choice.

      Like

      1. Thanks for clear that up for me I’m a type 2diabetic and I seen the pump on fliers and stuff. But it never ran through my mind to have one. Are you keeping the pump for the rest of your life? Bolus??? You can’t eat regular foods or just soft food?

        Like

Leave a Reply

