I Don’t Know My Diaversary

On Twitter, Google +, Facebook, TuDiabetes, Tumblr, etc., I always see blips from other diabetics stating that they are celebrating their diaversary. That is, the anniversary of their diagnosis.  Sometimes they choose to be happy about it, taking the road of “I’ve survived this long and am still so very healthy”, etc.  Sometimes the celebration is no celebration at all, “X years with this fucking disease”.

The thing is, I don’t know my exact diaversary. The exact date of my diagnosis was not something myself or my parents made note of. Now that I look back, I wish I knew. I would love to be able to say “I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes on April X, 1988”. All I know is that I was nine years old so that makes it 1988, and that it was just after Easter, so that makes it in April. 17g1

I’ve gone through all the old paperwork I have from my childhood, but surprisingly, I have very little medical records. Most of it is school stuff. I don’t think I can contact my diagnosing endocrinologist’s office. I don’t know what it was called or even if it still exists. Also, I’m fairly certain my diagnosing endo is retired and possibly even has passed away. I do remember his name,though, and even have a distinct memory of what he looked like. It’s funny what memories get scarred into your mind. He was a very nice doctor, but he had very frightening news to give me. Anyway, I’ve moved a lot over the years and changed my insurance provider and doctors many times (and even went several years without insurance) so my medical records are scattered and jumbled.

Is there any way there is still a record out there of the exact date my diabetes diagnosis was confirmed? A record I can get my hands on? I’m not sure how that all works.

One thought on “I Don’t Know My Diaversary”

  1. I don’t know my exact diagnosis date, either. It was a few days after my sixth birthday in Sept, 1945, but there is no exact record. The hospital says they are not responsible for keeping patient records for more than 10 years. I have no parent or living relative who can help. When I wanted to apply for the Joslin 50 year medal, I could not prove I had been T1 for that long. I waited until several years later so that my sister and a cousin, both younger than me, could remember 50 into their past, and write letters saying what they remembered about my diabetes back then. I sent the letters with my application and I received the medal in 2009, fourteen years later than my year of eligibility.
    I arbitrarily chose Sept 15, five days after my birthday, as my diaversary. I will be T1 for 70 years on that date this year.
    Shhh! Don’t tell anybody I do not know the actual date. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

