A Rare and Strange Case, Part 2

Yesterday I had an endocrinology appointment. It has been two weeks since my last visit with my new old endocrinologist (see post Back to the Future…Sort of).

You might be wondering why my endocrinologist wanted to see me just two weeks after an appointment. Well, I had been lazy and wasn’t checking my BG’s quite as often as I should, and I wasn’t bolusing properly because I was experiencing postprandial severe lows followed by huge spikes several hours later. She asked me to check more often and bolus properly (using the proper functions on my pump so she could see the info) for two weeks.

One thing I love about my endo is that she throws time constraints out the window. She has never had any problem spending an hour with one patient in order to give them proper care. The only time this annoys me is when I’m sitting in the waiting room for two hours past my appointment time because she’s spending a lot of time helping another patient.  LOL

Screw the useless 15 minute appointment!

In any case, I got in to see her about 45 minutes past my appointment time, but wasn’t annoyed about that because I have all the time in the world these days.

My insurance company doesn’t prefer the pump I use (I got it when I had a different insurance provider) so my doctor’s office doesn’t have the kind of application that is compatible with my pump so they can’t upload it to their system. We fixed this problem by having me log in to my Diasend account so my endo can view all my information.

We spent some time going over the last two weeks of my BG’s, insulin, carbs, etc.. She was very happy and optimistic about what she saw. It’s not that my BG’s were all in line all the time (they’re actually all over the place, 39-374) but that she saw a pattern we can work on correcting.

We simply adjusted my bolus ratio for a five hour block of time. Hopefully this will keep me from going on a roller-coaster ride every mid-morning and afternoon.

We talked a bit about my recent cardiologist visit and test, and my recent GI visit and test. She is happy my heart is currently healthy, and optimistic about my gastroparesis.

“We will get your BG’s under tight control and this can help reverse the gastroparesis. It’s proven.”  She said with a smile.

We talked some about my past and my weird issues. I told her my main concern is my weight troubles. Trying to figure out exactly what’s contributing to my easy weight gain and very impossible weight loss and fixing it all is very frustrating and depressing.

We talked about PCOS, insulin resistance, eating habits, and exercise.  Her only issue was that I spend so much time on cardio exercise – which is very painful due to neuropathy- when I should be doing more weight lifting.

“Weight-lifting will improve insulin sensitivity which will help you lose weight. And working your muscles burns more fat.” She explained. I knew all this already, but hearing it from her made it resound in me.

I told her how I’ve had several doctors tell me I am a ‘unique’, ‘weird’, ‘perplexing’, ‘odd’, ‘rare and strange’ case. “Am I? Really?” I asked her.

She nodded with big eyes. “Yes, you are. It’s all very strange and perplexing.”

A type 1 with severe insulin resistance is apparently very rare. A type 1 with almost every complication in the book (pre 30 year mark) is apparently very rare. A type 1 who has had so many undiagnosed chronic illnesses from a young age (despite seeing many doctors) for so many years is unconscionable. And all these other odd things going on…

“I don’t want to be. I want to figure it all out and fix it.  I’m tired.”  I said.

“Don’t worry, we’ll work on it and get it all worked out. One step at a time.”

She wants to see me again in 6 weeks.

Author: Tamra K. Garcia

Stephen King says to "Write what you know." I know diabetes, I know me; so this is what I write about.

3 thoughts on “A Rare and Strange Case, Part 2”

  1. I am glad that you have a doctor who doesn’t mind spending extra time and explain it all, and being so understanding and compassionate. It’s rare. This is quite perplexing, tell you that.

    Hang in there

    Like

  2. I’m going through something similar with my endo now. It seems like there are so many random factors affecting my blood sugars, it’s all impossible to figure out. My endo is retiring this month, so I hope I can find a new doctor like yours who helps me figure out what to try and how to fix it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

