Share Therapy

I’m hoping to get some involvement from the audience on this post. I’ve found that about half the diabetics I know have no qualms about discussing ‘personal’ diabetic information, and the other half act as if sharing their  current A1c number is tantamount to sharing their social security number!

I can understand both sides here. When I was younger I would never have dreamed of telling anyone anything about my diabetic side. It was all private, shameful, taboo for me. Since I’ve been an active member of the diabetes community I’ve found freedom and relief in sharing. And most of all I’ve found that I am more like other diabetics than I ever thought.

I am not alone!

Below is a list of simple but potentially sensitive questions about your diabetes. If you would like to participate in my little online share therapy session then feel free to post your answers in the comment section.

You do not have to answer every single question if you find one too private, or not applicable to your type of diabetes, or you just don’t know the answer.

*Warning: Be aware that your answers will be open for the whole world to see. Anyone who happens by and reads this thread will see all the posted comments.*

My answers will be posted in the comments along with everyone’s.

  1. Type of diabetes you have
  2. Your current A1c
  3. Current ISF (insulin sensitivity factor)
  4. Current I:C (insulin to carb ratio)
  5. How long have you been diabetic?
  6. Do you think your endocrinologist (or whatever doctor cares for your diabetes) truly understands what it’s like to live with diabetes?
  7. Are you the only diabetic in your family?
  8. Is your close family supportive, educated on diabetes, and involved in your care?
  9. Do you have any other chronic/autoimmune illnesses besides diabetes?
  10. What bothers you the most about being diabetic?
  11. How would you respond to someone who was crying because they’ve just been diagnosed with diabetes?
  12. At what number do you usually start to feel high? Low?

What I am hoping to accomplish here is to show other diabetics who may feel shameful, angry, or insecure about their diabetes that we are all similar, and there is nothing shameful about being diabetic or struggling with it!

We are not alone!

Author: Tamra K. Garcia

Stephen King says to "Write what you know." I know diabetes, I know me; so this is what I write about.

9 thoughts on “Share Therapy”

  1. 1. Type 1
    2. 7.4
    3. 1:15
    4. 1:10
    5. 28 years
    6. Yes, she is a very good doctor who is very sensitive to emotion as well as physical/medical.
    7. No, there are 6 type 1 and a few type 2
    8. Yes, my husband is all in with me!
    9. Yes, I have PCOS
    10. I think mostly it is the perceived loss of freedom. Although I know differently, sometimes I just feel trapped.
    11. I would hold them and let them know they are not alone, they have help, support, and understanding. Life isn’t over, it’s just changed a bit.
    12. No matter what my number is I. ALWAYS. FEEL. HIGH! I usually start to feel low at around 50.

    Like

  2. Tamra, I really love this post. You are spot on with the share therapy idea.

    1) Type of diabetes you have: Type 2
    2) Your current A1c: 6.7%
    3) Current ISF (insulin sensitivity factor): N/A
    4) Current I:C (insulin to carb ratio): N/A
    5) How long have you been diabetic? A little less than a month
    6) Do you think your endocrinologist (or whatever doctor cares for your diabetes) truly understands what it’s like to live with diabetes? My DMT, yes.
    7) Are you the only diabetic in your family? No
    8) Is your close family supportive, educated on diabetes, and involved in your care? Yes, my husband is amazingly helpful.
    9) Do you have any other chronic/autoimmune illnesses besides diabetes? Yes
    10) What bothers you the most about being diabetic? The permanency of it all.
    11) How would you respond to someone who was crying because they’ve just been diagnosed with diabetes? HUG IT OUT and let them know that they have my support.
    12) At what number do you usually start to feel high? Low? I made drastic changes to my diet upon being diagnosed so I’m not sure…

    Like

  3. Type of diabetes you have: Type 1
    Your current A1c: 6.9
    Current ISF (insulin sensitivity factor): 1 unit brings me down 20-35 mg/dl
    Current I:C (insulin to carb ratio): 1 unit for 8-12 carbs depending on the time of day.
    How long have you been diabetic?: A little over 27 years
    Do you think your endocrinologist (or whatever doctor cares for your diabetes) truly understands what it’s like to live with diabetes? Somewhat.
    Are you the only diabetic in your family? I am the only type 1. Many family members have “prediabetic” readings.
    Is your close family supportive, educated on diabetes, and involved in your care? Yes.
    Do you have any other chronic/autoimmune illnesses besides diabetes? Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis and an unexplained constant RLQ abdominal pain.
    What bothers you the most about being diabetic? Having to convince other health care providers that I can be “normal people sick.”
    How would you respond to someone who was crying because they’ve just been diagnosed with diabetes? Reassure them that it’s more of a constant pain in the ass than a horrible death sentence.
    At what number do you usually start to feel high? Low? Low at 75, high at 180.

    Like

  4. Type of diabetes you have DM1
    Your current A1c 7.8
    Current ISF (insulin sensitivity factor) 1:20
    Current I:C (insulin to carb ratio)1:5
    How long have you been diabetic? 44 years
    Do you think your endocrinologist (or whatever doctor cares for your diabetes) truly understands what it’s like to live with diabetes? No
    Are you the only diabetic in your family? brother is an adult onset DM 1
    Is your close family supportive, educated on diabetes, and involved in your care? other than brother, no one truly ‘gets’ what it takes
    Do you have any other chronic/autoimmune illnesses besides diabetes? Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, endometriosis resulting in hysterectomy
    What bothers you the most about being diabetic? that even though there is a bevy of treatments and devices to deal with DM, most/many are not affordable even with private insurances
    How would you respond to someone who was crying because they’ve just been diagnosed with diabetes? I would tell them that its manageable but takes alot of work, which if the undiabetic population also did would make them healthier
    At what number do you usually start to feel high? Low? 300/75

    Like

  5. My answers will be posted in the comments along with everyone’s.

    Type of diabetes you have – type 1
    Your current A1c – 5.7
    Current ISF (insulin sensitivity factor) – 22
    Current I:C (insulin to carb ratio) – 14
    How long have you been diabetic? 42 years

    Do you think your endocrinologist (or whatever doctor cares for your diabetes) truly understands what it’s like to live with diabetes? – endo

    Are you the only diabetic in your family? – yes mother and aunt deceased

    Is your close family supportive, educated on diabetes, and involved in your care? – yes wife

    Do you have any other chronic/autoimmune illnesses besides diabetes? – yes RA

    What bothers you the most about being diabetic? – not much but high blood sugar

    How would you respond to someone who was crying because they’ve just been diagnosed with diabetes? – its gets easier, you will get through it and here is my number

    At what number do you usually start to feel high? Low? – 200, 60

    Like

  6. Hi , I have answers:
    1) T1D
    2) 6,4%
    3) ISF different a day of hours and to prejudice wheather, illness, menses, but avg 1 unit insulin = 2,2- 3,4 mml/l
    4) I/C = 1unit insulin =18-25g Ch
    5) for 33 years ( I am 39ys)
    6) My Endo she brilliant mind but she not know all for diabetes effects of unknown, so add to my experriences
    7) Yes,only a One I have diabetes of my all family
    8) Yes, my mum
    9) No , I haven’t
    10) all of sudden are changes on metabolism to conformation ( activity, meals, time of outgoings, etc..)
    11) don’t Worry, the time is to work out, we are best healthy just we doing better do.
    12) This is variable ( night on sleep or day), but usually the hypo I feel between 1.9- 3,8 mml/l and the hyper Gl. catch above 12 mml/l
    I hope can you advance. 

    Like

  7. 1. Type 1
    2. Am due for one but guessing High 5s based on averages
    3. 1:60
    4. 1:8
    5. 9 yrs
    6. He is excellent, but I don’t think one can fully understand unless they have it or live with someone who does
    7. Just me, although my grandpa had it but not sure what type
    8. Yes, my husband
    9. No
    10. Having to stop what I am doing to treat a low
    11. With understanding
    12. High – about 140 low about 60-65

    Like

  8. 1. T2
    2. 7.0
    3. ?
    4. ?
    5. 3yrs
    6. Pretty much
    7. Yes, although my biological family has history of diabetes.
    8. Not really. Tries to be but doesn’t really understand.
    9. Hypothyroidism
    10. Pain in the ass with watching, counting carbs, testing, shots. Highs low’s. Complications.
    11. I know it sucks but you can do it.
    12. 200/75

    Like

Leave a Reply

