Talking About Nothing

I’ve been wanting to write for several days now, but there really isn’t too much diabetes wise to talk about lately. But since I am in such a writing mood I guess I’ll just type and see what comes out.

This past Friday and Saturday were kind of tough and frustrating. My gastroparesis decided to flare up pretty bad. I would bolus for food, eat, and then less than an hour later bottom out. I would pop some glucose tabs to treat the low and then end up outrageously high a couple hours later. Why? Because my tummy wasn’t digesting!

Then I would vomit about nine hours later, totally undigested food.

GAH!!!!!

Other than that I’ve been doing OK. I’m still struggling with increased anxiety. And my depression is kind of working in waves at the moment.

I’m super anxious because our move into the “bad” house is just around the corner. Everyone keeps telling me things like, “just keep your eye on the big picture. This is all for a good reason.” and, “Just think about the good things, make the best of it.”

Yeah, right, that’s much easier said than done. Happy thoughts only work a tiny bit for me. I’ve been in these exact same living arrangements before and they lead me to a nervous breakdown, so don’t blame me for being super worried it might happen again.

On a happy note, I’ve been getting a lot more exercise lately. And also going outside. I’ve been walking so much that I wore out a pair of shoes! It’s all really helping my depression, but my BG’s and weight are still being stubborn.

Give it time, I guess. 🙂

I’m regaining my interest in hobbies my depression had squashed for awhile. I’m reading, crocheting, and cooking more again. 🙂

I had an appointment with my endocrinologist yesterday but there’s really nothing to report that I haven’t already discussed in this or previous posts.

I’m supposed to get an appointment to start one-on-one counseling for my anxiety and depression but I keep playing phone tag with the scheduling nurse.

Patience…

All-in-all I’m feeling a lot better. It’s always going to be a struggle, but I’m learning new ways to cope now.

 

 

Author: Tamra K. Garcia

Stephen King says to "Write what you know." I know diabetes, I know me; so this is what I write about.

Leave a Reply

