The Waiting

I’m still in a kind of limbo regarding my thyroid. Those of you who read my blog regularly know about the swollen neck and horrible headaches and dizzy spells. I am happy to report that those symptoms are mostly gone now.

But the overactive thyroid remains and is scaring the bejesus out of me.

I have almost all the symptoms related to an overactive thyroid:

Difficulty swallowing (mild)

weight loss (20+lbs in two months)

weight2
20+lbs lost between August and today

Physical hunger almost all the time.

Nausea ( and vomiting on occasion)

Weakness in my upper arms and thighs (Sometimes I feel like I can’t get up from sitting)

Physical tiredness and sleepiness (I sleep 15 – 18 hours a day!)

Moodiness (It’s like I’m perpetually PMSing)

Hot flashes and excessive sweating (all day everyday)

Diarrhea (but less frequent bowel movements)

Blurry vision (moderate)

Blood glucose levels in the 200-400 range All the time. (I’ve raised my basal to 2 units per hour, and I’ve also increased my bolus amount quite a bit! And I still can’t keep my BG below 260!).

And the worst is!: Chest pain, rapid heartbeat, palpitations, shortness of breath, occasional pain down my left arm. (so scared!) This is all day (when I’m active) and even when I first lay down to sleep at night.

My Endo diagnosed me with an overactive thyroid (hyperthyroidism) on October 9th. I did followup blood work. Then on October 17th she ordered a thyroid scan and uptake. On October 18th I was called by the nuclear medicine department to schedule the scan.

I’m having horrible life-halting symptoms. Understand, please, that I cannot walk three steps without getting terrible chest pain. When I stand up I feel weak and unstable. I sleep more than half the day away and all night!

I don’t feel good!

You can understand, then, how heartbroken I was to discover I have to wait over a week to do this test. I have to follow a strict low-iodine diet for at least a week, and then they give me a radioactive iodine pill, I have to wait 24 hours, and then do the one hour scan.

That means I have to wait even longer to find out why my thyroid is so angry and get some treatment.

How much longer do I have to suffer like this!

Tom Petty – The Waiting

 

2 thoughts on “The Waiting”

  1. I find it unacceptable that they make us wait, the negative effects your high BG is having on your body. Healthcare professionals just don’t understand the struggles we have everyday. Best of luck to you, you’re in my thoughts.

    Like

  2. Doesn’t it drive you insane. They are trying to get by husband’s kidney failure under control. I have taken him to doctors appointment almost every day. 4th lot of blood work in 4 weeks. Prayers for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

