From Hallelujah to Nachtmusik

I have written before about my love of music and how I listen to certain songs or styles when I am feeling certain ways. Sometimes I listen to change my mood, but most of the time I choose what I choose in order to wallow in whatever mood I’m in and either feed it or use it up.

As a type 1 diabetic, I tend to have many moments of frustration, depression, fatigue, etc. I will listen to certain baroque or classical songs in order to relax, feel better, build energy, or wallow in my sorrows.

Incidentally, when I need to use my brain – study, figure things out, find inspiration for a project, etc. – I will listen to baroque or classical music because they stimulate the mind and imagination in ways nothing else can.

I haven’t spoken much about these two of my most favorite ‘mood’ styles of music, though. I absolutely love both Baroque and Classical music. They are the foundation of all modern music styles you probably listen to today, and they themselves are magnificent, ingenious, and downright wonderful to listen to. I have never listened to any music that moves me more than baroque or classical.

Below I have listed many composers and their works that I love. I intentionally chose works that I don’t just love, but that are also well known. Even if you don’t intentionally listen to this type of music you’ll probably recognize these works from movies or other places.

I will start with Baroque composers because the baroque era (1600-1750) came before classical (1730 – 1820).

George Frideric Handel is one of the most popular baroque composers. His most famous composition is no doubt Messiah, especially the part known as the Hallelujah Chorus. I personally favor his work of the Water Music Suite No. 2 (alla hornpipe) which is less known but still popular. You may also recognize Solomon – Arrival of the Queen of Sheba, which is wonderful.

Antonio Lucio Vivaldi is also a well known baroque composer, although not the most well known. He is probably best known for his work The Four Seasons. I personally love La Primavera (The Spring) the most. He makes you feel and hear the weather and animals through his wonderful style of music.

OK, so Johann Sebastian Bach is a baroque composer, not classical… even though most people just lump all eras into one giant title called ‘classical’. Bach is no doubt the most well known baroque composer. Most people recognize his works from weddings. Pieces such as Air and Herz Und Mund Und Tat Und Leben. Both of these I love.

Jean-Joseph Mouret Is probably best known for his work Suites of Symphonies. I love the Premier Suite 1-4, which you will most likely recognize from Masterpiece Theatre.

And then there is Johann Pachelbel who is best known for Pachelbel’s Canon which is another wedding favorite. You may be surprised to find out this work is sampled in Green Day’s hit song Basket Case. Both songs are wonderful…in very different ways.

Ok, so, on to the classical era. I am only going to feature my two favorite composers from this era, Beethoven and Mozart.

Ludwig Von Beethoven was born in the classical era and died in the romantic era, but for all intents and purposes he is considered a classical composer. Although most people who don’t really listen to his music but only know it from movies, etc. think of his music as dark, brooding, and gothic, this is simply a misrepresentation. I find most of Beethoven to be quite happy, optimistic, and upbeat. Below are some links to his most popular music; these are some, but not all, of his works that I  love.

Fate

Fur Elise

Moonlight

Pastoral

Ode To Joy

And my most favorite composer of the classical era, and probably my most favorite composer, period, is Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. I suppose I love him because his music is so modern in it’s feel (he was so ahead of his time), and also because it speaks to my emotions more than any other composer. I hear his music and it just makes me feel things I can’t explain. Mozart just so happens to be the most well known (arguably) classical composer, and for good reason, he’s frickin’ amazing! Below are just a few of his popular (and magnificent) works.

The Marriage of Figaro

Piano Sonata No 15 in C major

Eine Kleine Nachtmusik

Piano Sonata No 5 in G Major

Piano Concerto No25 in D Major

Dur Holle Roche

So, there you go. I can only hope I’ve helped a few develop a new respect and love for baroque and classical music.

Author: Tamra K. Garcia

Stephen King says to "Write what you know." I know diabetes, I know me; so this is what I write about.

1 thought on “From Hallelujah to Nachtmusik”

  1. I like Stairway to Heaven (Led Zepplin), almost all Pink Floyd, and I am especially taken by Bob Dylan. Plus the other 1,300+ songs on my computer. Probably not exactly the same thing. LOL

    This item has been referred to the TUDiabetes Blog page for the week of December 5, 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

