One Little Pill

Well, it has been a week since I started on 75 mcg a day of Levothyroxine. I must point out that I started to feel a lessening of symptoms within the first 24 hours. I also should report that I suffered with nausea for the first 4 days and threw up once. But now that it has been a week I woke up this morning feeling really good.

IMAG0456

I just about feel human again.

For those of you who don’t know what I am talking about, I just started treatment for hypothyroidism.

The symptoms I had were:

Thinning hair (mild)

Acne (moderate)

Weight gain and difficulty losing (severe)

Sleepiness (severe)

Depression (moderate – severe)

Muscle and joint pain (mild)

Sensitivity to cold (mild – moderate)

Dry skin (mild)

Memory/concentration issues (moderate)

Stubborn high BG’s (severe)

I won’t bore you with the background story, but I am now on medication and it started working right away. I did have one side effect which was the nausea I mentioned. Apparently it was just a matter of my body getting used to the medication and changing hormone levels.

I’m sure my hair will thicken up again over time. The acne started to clear up immediately, it was shockingly fast! I hope I will lose some weight, but I’m not holding my breath on that one because a couple people I know who are on this medication said it didn’t help there. The sleepiness has lessened a lot, but I still feel overwhelmingly sleepy on a off during the day and I still sleep around 12 hours a night. The depression melted away and is now just about gone. I no longer have any muscle or joint pain. I still feel a bit more cold than I should, but it’s better. My skin is still dry. My brain is no longer foggy, it’s like the sun finally came up! My BG’s are better but still high, but I think it’s just now due to me being bad about my diabetes care this past week.

I’m feeling good. 🙂

I see my endo in a few days and we’ll see what she has to say. I get my thyroid labs at the beginning of April so we’ll see then how well the Levo is working.

Author: Tamra K. Garcia

Stephen King says to "Write what you know." I know diabetes, I know me; so this is what I write about.

3 thoughts on “One Little Pill”

  1. Not having enough meds sucks. I have many problems with my hyper thyroidism. One of the craziest was I take one and a half pills once a week. I finally learned (when my mum was in the haospital) that those little pills are scored down the center not for show. If you put your fingers on either side of the score and press down, the pill almost always breaks in half perfectly! Very cool stuff!

    Like

  2. If you find that the levothyroxine doesn’t ease all your symptoms, you could talk to your Endo about adding Cytomel (T3). I take 112 mcg. of levothyoxine and 10 mcg. of Cytomel (Liothyronine) every morning. The Cytomel helps with sleepiness quite a bit and supposedly helps with weight loss.

    Like

Leave a Reply

